Toss: West Indies chose to bat v Sri Lanka

West Indies have won the toss and chosen to bat under blue skies, on a Queen’s Park Oval track expected to be full of runs on the first two days.

Devon Smith, the 36-year-old opener, returns to the Test XI for the first time in more than three years. He will take guard against the new ball alongside Kraigg Brathwaite, with Kieran Powell moving down to No. 3. This means there is no place for the 21-year-old Shimron Hetmyer, who had impressed in flashes during December’s Tests in New Zealand.

With a batting track before them, Sri Lanka have opted to beef up their attack, fielding five specialist bowlers. Rangana Herath and Dilruwan Perera are the spinners, while Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Gamage and Lahiru Kumara are the seam-bowling options in the XI. Kusal Perera will open the batting alongside Kusal Mendis, in the absence of the injured Dimuth Karunaratne. Although Dhananjaya de Silva has now joined the side in Trinidad, he arrived too late to be considered for selection in this game.

West Indies: 1 Kraigg Brathwaite, 2 Devon Smith, 3 Kieran Powell, 4 Shai Hope, 5 Roston Chase, 6 Shane Dowrich (wk), 7 Jason Holder (capt), 8 Devendra Bishoo, 9 Miguel Cummins, 10 Kumar Roach, 11 Shannon Gabriel

Sri Lanka: 1 Kusal Mendis, 2 Kusal Perera, 3 Dinesh Chandimal (capt), 4 Roshen Silva, 5 Angelo Mathews, 6 Niroshan Dickwella (wk), 7 Dilruwan Perera, 8 Rangana Herath, 9 Suranga Lakmal, 10 Lahiru Gamage, 11 Lahiru Kumara

Source link

قالب وردپرس